Kelly O’Dwyer MP

Kelly was elected in a by-election in December 2009 at the age of 32 to represent the seat of Higgins, her local electorate, following the retirement of former Federal Treasurer Peter Costello.

Kelly was appointed as the Minister for Revenue and Financial Services in the Turnbull Government in July 2016. She is a member of Cabinet and also serves on Cabinet’s Expenditure Review Committee (ERC).

Kelly grew up in Emerald, in Victoria’s Dandenong Ranges. She was educated at Presbyterian Ladies College in Burwood and went on to attend Melbourne University, graduating with Honours in Law and an Arts degree majoring in history. Upon leaving university, Kelly embarked on a legal career at Freehills, where she practised in corporate law.

She served as the Minister for Small Business and Assistant Treasurer from September 2015 to July 2016, and was the Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer from December 2014 until being appointed to Cabinet in 2015.

During her time as Minister for Small Business, Minister O’Dwyer and the Turnbull Government introduced unfair contract protections for small business, established the Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman, abolished the Road Safety Remuneration Tribunal, and announced the amendment of section 46 of the competition law to level the playing field for small businesses. As a member of the Expenditure Review Committee, she also ensured small businesses benefited from the 2016-17 Budget’s tax cuts and expanded small business tax concessions.

She was Chairman of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Economics from 2013 to 2015.

Kelly has been Chairman of the Australia-United States Parliamentary Friendship Group and Convenor of the Australia-Americas Network, encompassing North, Central and South America.

Kelly is married to Jon and they live in the Higgins electorate. Kelly enjoys running (slowly) along the Yarra River, a night out at the movies or catching a DVD at home with Jon.  She is a keen supporter and follower of the North Melbourne Football Club.